RSS Feed

MOOCs – Feeling Inspired

I’m currently have way through a 3 day online conference run by Jisc RSC North Yorkshire on Moocs which looks at everything from OER, accessibility, open badges to designing and creating a successful mooc. It’s been really interesting and inspiring.

This has linked well as I’ve been asked to join a steering group at the college looking at frameworks for teaching from the way we do it now to completely online. This has been great opportunity to use my knowledge as a learning technologist and collaborate with staff.

As I really should ‘practice what I preach’, I’ve signed up for 2 Moocs, the first being January and run by The University of Nottingham called Sustainability, society and you with a focus on Education for Sustainable Development. It is an interesting topic, but I’m also interested in how it runs and I how I find being a student on a Mooc course.

The focus is on research and critical thinking, and resources have been made available before hand to encourage deeper learning once the course starts. There are free e-books available and can be downloaded to e-readers, so I’ve downloaded them all to my iPad and started reading one.  It’s fired up my interest and given me a knowledge of what I will be learning. I am a keen, proactive learning, so whether other students on the course will do the same I will have to wait and see. I’m also hoping that I continue to look through the resources before the course.

My aim to do this particular course is to see if I can re-think sustainability and I am hoping it will inspire change as a result of more knowledge.

I will blog about my journey and lessons learned. I’m feeling a real passion for education and e-learning particularly and hope this becomes a real way of making education accessible to those who seek it. I am looking forward to honing my skills and using them to support staff and help to create e-learning content and courses.

About moodleberry

Living the e-dream as a Learning Technologist who loves e-learning and education

Leave a comment